Home Cure: Week #1

I’ve decided to keep a blog to make this Cure more successful than the last. During the Fall 08 Cure, I was so overwhelmed and discouraged. Thinking back, I don’t think I made it to week 4. Sad, I know. Spring brings anew and I’m determined to have a party in 8 7 weeks!

Since I just moved in December, I’ve decided to to the Deep Treatment.  Obviously, I don’t plan to have everything done in 8 weeks but this will give me a good start to creating a home that feels like mine.  This will be my third apartment in my three short years in Chicago.  Turning a bland rental apartment into a home is not an easy task  but, hey, I’m willing to work with what I got.

By the by, this blog thing is pretty new to me. I will make all attempts to stay focused and organized but tangents and vents will happen. This is your fair warning. So here goes:

Week One:

Bones

Make a complete list of repairs and solutions.

Vacuum/mop all of the floors.

*Technically, I still have to do the Living Room floor but 4 out of 5 isn’t bad!

Breath

Remove one item and put it outside.

*It’s in the outbox.  If I can’t find a use for it during Living Room week, it’s gone!

Heart

Buy fresh flowers.

Head

Sit for ten minutes in a part of your home that you never sit in.

Look into earth-friendly cleaning products.

*This is one of the few things I took away from the Fall Cure.  It really does make a difference.

Looking good so far!  I scrubbed the entire apartment on Sunday (minus the LV- Forgive me but it was so nice out!). By the time I was done, four garbage were filled with things that should have been thrown away a long time ago.   I’m terrible about clutter.  It’s something else I’d like to tackle.

I still need to sit in an unused part of the apartment.  In my case, that would be the dining room since it’s empty.  It seems like a weird task but I swear I’m committed to this 100%.

Confession #1: I had unpacked boxes from my move in my dining room.  As an effort to show how serious I am about the Cure, the boxes are gone- straight to the in-box, that is.  I’m not sure what’s in them but now seems like the proper time to find out.

Next week is Kitchen Week…

Leave a Reply

