Home Cure: Week #3 (Mid-Week Check In)

Before I get into week three’s to do list, I want to acknowledge a few things that I accomplished from weeks’ past.  About a year ago, I broke one of my juice glasses and never replaced it.  During my deep cleaning in week one, I put it on my list of repairs  (and quickly forgot about it).  On my commute home yesterday, I ducked into the Crate and Barrel on North and Clybourn to ride out a rain storm.  I started checking out some entry tables (more on that later) and was about to walk out when the missing glass popped into my head.  The set is complete once again!

Another dubious accomplishment: I sat in my dining room for 10 minutes this morning. No snooze button today as I was on a mission.   It was nice to have my tea at the table (while listening to Steve Harvey on the radio- Hilarious!).  I can see myself spending more time in there, especially once it’s completely done. (Is anything ever completely done?!)

Done and Done!

Okay, let’s get to it…

Bones

Vacuum, dust, and mop throughout your home.

I think this is going to be my bi-weekly Saturday morning ritual. (I even have a play list for it)

Clean entrance and related closets.

I have three hallway closets that serve different purposes. Coats, linens and laundry.  All need to be organized but this week will focus on the coat closet.

Arrange to have all repairs taken care of in the next three weeks.

My repairs are pretty minor so I will try to tackle them myself!

Breath

Declutter your entrance.

Since I don’t have a true entry space, my mail ends up on my desk.  I’ll spare you the before pic.  It’s brutal!

Move all old mail, catalogs, and magazines to the outbox.

Half way done.  YES!  However, I still need to go through and organize. BOO!

Look into what you would need to create a landing strip.

Here’s one idea:

West Elm Parsons Desk. a href=
Cancel any unused subscriptions.

DONE!  The previous tenant had questionable taste in clothing (No judging!) and I stopped her catalogs when I moved in.

Heart

Identify cool rooms and warm rooms.
Apply the 80/20 color rule.

Head

Cook two meals at home.

I blogged about the first meal here. Tonight was meal #2.  I found the recipe in Real Simple Magazine (Love!).  Having never tried chard before, I was going to swap it with Spinach.  I’m so glad I didn’t.  It was delicious.  The wine wasn’t so bad either. 😉

Pan Fried Polenta with Sauteed Chard

Pan Fried Polenta with Sauteed Chard

Design an invitation for your housewarming.

In the age of Facebook, is this necessary? Of course! I found a cute set of invites but might do something homemade.  (Anyone up for gluing gold macaroni?)

Leave a Reply

