the faint smell of paint and rubber cement

School is going well but it is slowly taking over my apartment. No matter how many candles I light every day, there’s a faint smell of paint and rubber cement. Gross. It needs to be contained, asap.
Inspired by an Apartment Therapy post on double duty work spaces,  I’ve decided to turn my dining room into a work space. 

 

love this (photo from Apartment Therapy)

love this (photo from Apartment Therapy)

In my dream world: I’d stretch the dining room out by 9 or 10 sq feet, add some built in shelving and more windows. Actually, a window seat with a nice view to sketch would be lovely.  With that said, I still want a proper dining room where I can have my morning coffee (per my mother’s request- she firmly AND wisely suggests a little quiet time in the morning, just you and a cup o’ joe) or have people over for dinner (for those home cooked cure meals that I’ve stopped making months ago- hello, takeout!) 

With the new 2010 catalog in tow, I went to Ikea for some storage options.  I know I shouldn’t like Ikea as I do but I believe good design doesn’t have to cost a lot of money.

Leave a Reply

